December 1, 2021

Science

The world of science and technology

NASA’s SpaceX Crew-3 Astronauts Launch to the Space Station

A Halloween launch? You’re in for a treat. NASA’s SpaceX Crew-3 mission is set to lift off on Saturday, Oct. 31 at 2:21 a.m. EDT (0621 UTC) from Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Astronauts Kayla Barron, Raja Chari, and Thomas Marshburn of NASA will fly to the International Space Station alongside astronaut Matthias Maurer of the European Space Agency. Once there, the crew of four will spend about six months conducting science experiments and performing maintenance upgrades aboard the orbiting laboratory. For Barron, Chari, and Maurer, this will be their first spaceflight, and the third for Marshburn.

The Crew Dragon ‘Endurance’ spacecraft will dock to the space station on Monday, Nov. 1 at 12:10 a.m. EDT (0410 UTC). Watch continuous coverage of their entire ride, on NASA TV: https://youtu.be/21X5lGlDOfg

Learn more about the mission: https://go.nasa.gov/3GhPMnY

Science News Source: NASA