December 3, 2022

Science

The world of science and technology

Artemis I Distant Lunar Orbit Insertion Burn

At 4:52 p.m. EST (21:52 UTC), the Orion spacecraft will perform a burn burn to enter a distant retrograde orbit around the Moon, an orbit that is high altitude from the surface of the Moon and opposite the direction of the Moon travels around Earth. Live coverage will begin at 4:30 p.m. EST (21:30 UTC).

At 1:47 a.m. EST (6:47 UTC) on November 16, NASA’s Orion spacecraft launched aboard the Space Launch System (SLS), the world’s most powerful rocket, from historic Launch Complex 39B at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center on a path to the Moon, officially beginning the Artemis I mission. This mission is the first integrated test of NASA’s deep space exploration systems: the Orion spacecraft, the SLS rocket, and Kennedy Space Center ground systems.

More: nasa.gov/specials/artemis-i

Science News Source: NASA

U.S. Science © 2005 Area.Control.Network™ All rights reserved.
All Rights Reserved © ACN 2020

ACN Privacy Policies
ACN TOS
Area Control Network (ACN)
Area Control Network
Area Control Network Center